47 Counties of Kenya: Their Headquarters and Codes

Delve into the administrative structure of Kenya, learning about the 47 counties, their headquarters, and respective codes—an insightful guide to understanding the heart of Kenya's local governance.

Jun 11, 2023 - 12:24
Jun 11, 2023 - 12:25
47 Counties of Kenya: Their Headquarters and Codes
47 Counties of Kenya: Their Headquarters and Codes

In the remarkable year 2010, Kenya made a vital transition towards a decentralized government. The country adopted a new constitution, thereby transforming its administrative structure by delineating the nation into 47 individual counties. Each county, governed by an elected governor, was designed to manage local affairs, including healthcare, education, and infrastructure development, improving service delivery and promoting equitable resource distribution.

Further, every county is subdivided into constituencies and wards, represented by Members of Parliament and Members of the County Assembly. The changes have significantly transformed the public service landscape, giving rise to a more citizen-centric administration.

The Essence of County Codes in Kenya

The 47 counties are not just a plain administrative division but the heart of Kenya's local governance. Every county has a different code, facilitating easy identification, cataloging, and data management. These codes are integral for the smooth functioning of government machinery and are extensively used in official documents, records, and communications. These codes form a unique identity for each county.

The Leaders and Their Influence

Each county is led by a governor, a local leader elected by the county's residents. Establishing county governments has proved to be a game-changer, bringing decision-making and resource allocation closer to the people. Kenya has ensured more responsive, inclusive, and efficient governance by providing a more localized administrative structure.

Unraveling the List of Kenya's 47 Counties

With each county boasting a unique culture, economy, and history, let's explore the list of the 47 counties in Kenya, their headquarters, and the respective codes.

Code County Headquarters Postal abbreviations
001 Mombasa Mombasa MSA
002 Kwale Kwale KWL
003 Kilifi Kilifi KLF
004 Tana River Hola TRV
005 Lamu Lamu LMU
006 Taita–Taveta Mwatate TVT
007 Garissa Garissa GRS
008 Wajir Wajir WJR
009 Mandera Mandera MDR
010 Marsabit Marsabit MRS
011 Isiolo Isiolo ISL
012 Meru Meru MRU
013 Tharaka-Nithi Kathwana TNT
014 Embu Embu EMB
015 Kitui Kitui KTU
016 Machakos Machakos MCK
017 Makueni Wote MKN
018 Nyandarua Ol Karau NDR
019 Nyeri Nyeri NYR
020 Kirinyaga Kerugoya KRG
021 Murang'a Murang'a MRG
022 Kiambu Kiambu KMB
023 Turkana Lodwar TRK
024 West Pokot Kapenguria WPK
025 Samburu Maralal SBR
026 Trans-Nzoia Kitale TNZ
027 Uasin Gishu Eldoret UGS
028 Elgeyo-Marakwet Iten EMK
029 Nandi Kapsabet NDI
030 Baringo Kabarnet BRG
031 Laikipia Rumuruti LKP
032 Nakuru Nakuru NKR
033 Narok Narok NRK
034 Kajiado Kajiado KJD
035 Kericho Kericho KRC
036 Bomet Bomet BMT
037 Kakamega Kakamega KKG
038 Vihiga Mbale VHG
039 Bungoma Bungoma BGM
040 Busia Busia BSA
041 Siaya Siaya SYA
042 Kisumu Kisumu KSM
043 Homa Bay Homa Bay HBY
044 Migori Migori MGR
045 Kisii Kisii KSI
046 Nyamira Nyamira NMR
047 Nairobi Nairobi NBI

The Impact of Devolved Governance in Kenya

The inception of county governments has indeed paved the way for a better Kenya. Citizens now have more control over their local resources and governance. This system has seen improved service delivery, infrastructure development, and a more balanced distribution of resources. The feedback loop is tighter, leading to increased efficiency and effectiveness.

READ ALSO:  Top 17 Richest Counties in Kenya and GPD In 2023


In essence, the 47 counties of Kenya are more than administrative units; they represent the fabric of Kenya's society and governance. They stand testament to Kenya's bold steps towards effective decentralization, fostering local development, promoting equitable resource distribution, and enhancing public service delivery. Each with a unique code, leader, and capital, these counties form the pillars of Kenya's resilient democracy.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. How many counties are there in Kenya?

There are 47 counties in Kenya as per the 2010 constitution.

2. What is the purpose of county codes in Kenya?

County codes in Kenya are used for identification, cataloging, and data management purposes.

3. Who leads each county in Kenya?

Each county in Kenya is led by a governor who the residents of the county elect.

4. How has the establishment of counties impacted Kenya?

The establishment of counties has led to improved service delivery, better infrastructure development, and a more equitable distribution of resources.

5. What does a county code represent?

A county code represents the unique identity of each county in Kenya.

6. How are the counties in Kenya subdivided?

The counties in Kenya are further subdivided into constituencies and wards, represented by MPs and MCAs.


 This article is meant to provide information about the administrative structure of Kenya as per the 2010 Constitution. Although the information has been researched, the article claims incomplete accuracy as administrative systems may change over time. Referring to official government resources for the most accurate and updated information is always a good practice.

What's Your Reaction?








Joseph Richard Joseph is a graduate of Mathematics and Computer Science (Applied Option). With expertise in Technology and Finance, he brings his knowledge to the field, demonstrating an authoritative understanding of these interrelated areas. Joseph is pursuing a Master's in Software Engineering, further expanding his skill set.