List of All Nairobi County Districts In Kenya

Nairobi, the capital of Kenya, is a city of rich history and vibrant culture. Learn about its districts, landmarks, and more in this detailed guide.

Oct 31, 2023 - 12:46
List of  All Nairobi County Districts In Kenya
List of All Nairobi County Districts In Kenya

Nairobi, the capital city of Kenya, is a bustling metropolis that serves as the nation's heartbeat. Often needing clarification with Nairobi County, it is essential to understand that Nairobi County is one of the 47 counties in Kenya and coincides with Nairobi City. Despite its relatively small size, Nairobi City is the most populous in Kenya and a significant hub for business and tourism. In this comprehensive guide, we will delve into the heart of Nairobi, exploring its diverse districts, landmarks, and unique characteristics.

Nairobi's Historical Roots

Nairobi's history is as fascinating as the city itself. Founded in the late 19th century, Nairobi was initially a British colonial capital while constructing the Mombasa Uganda Railway. Over the years, it transformed from a colonial hub to the capital of the newly independent Republic of Kenya in 1963. Today, it is a symbol of progress and innovation in East Africa.

The city's name, Nairobi, has Maasai origins, derived from the phrase 'Enkare Nairobi,' which translates to "The place of Cool waters." It's a name that resonates with the city's lush landscapes and vibrant atmosphere. Often referred to as the "Green City in the Sun," Nairobi boasts a skyline that rivals some of the world's major cities in America and Asia.

Nairobi's Geography and Unique Features

Nairobi is strategically located in the south-central part of Kenya, nestled in the highlands at approximately 5,500 feet (1,680 meters). This prime location places Nairobi between the coastal city of Mombasa, Kenya's primary port on the Indian Ocean, and Kampala, the capital of Uganda. The city's geographical position has contributed to its growth and made it prone to occasional tremors and minor earthquakes.

Looking closely at Nairobi's map, you'll notice prominent geographical features. To the west lies the Ngong Hills, while Mount Kilimanjaro stands tall in the southwest. Tributaries and the Nairobi River gracefully traverse the city and its surroundings, adding to its natural charm.

One unique aspect that sets Nairobi apart from other capitals is the Nairobi National Park, within the city's boundaries. It's the world's only capital city with a national park, allowing residents and visitors to witness Africa's iconic wildlife without leaving the city limits.

Nairobi's Postal Code and Cultural Melting Pot

Navigating Nairobi is made more accessible by its postal code, 020. This code proves invaluable for newcomers when communicating or finding residences within the city. Nairobi is a melting pot of cultures and a multicultural and cosmopolitan city. It's home to a diverse population, with various immigrant communities coexisting harmoniously with local culture. The city's cuisine, arts, and traditions vividly reflect this rich tapestry of cultures.

READ ALSO: The Top Highest-Paying Jobs in Kenya 

Exploring Nairobi County

Nairobi County, established by the Nairobi City Council and the Constitution of Kenya 2010, serves as the administrative entity responsible for providing an array of services to its residents. These services include those previously offered by the now-defunct City Council and services transferred from the national government. Nairobi County's mission is to provide accessible, affordable, and high-quality services to its people, fostering community participation and creating a safe environment for social, economic, and political development.


Aspect Information
Capital City Nairobi
Founding Year Late 1899
Former British Capital 1899-1905
Independence Year 1963
Nickname "Green City in the Sun"
Area 696 square kilometers
Location 1°09′S 36°39′E and 1°27′S 37°06′E
Unique Feature National Park within the city
Postal Code 020

Nairobi County Districts

Nairobi County is divided into several constituencies, formerly known as districts, each with unique character and charm. Let's take a closer look at some of these fascinating districts:

1. Westlands Constituency

Westlands Constituency, covering an area of 72.4 square kilometers, is located within the Sub-county. Its history dates back to the 1963 elections when it was known as the Nairobi Northeast Constituency, later renamed Parklands Constituency until 1998 when it became Westlands Constituency.

2. Dagoretti North Constituency

Created before 2013, Dagoretti North Constituency was once part of the larger Westlands Constituency. It is situated west of Nairobi and is entirely within Nairobi County.

3. Dagoretti South Constituency

In Nairobi County, Dagoretti South is an electoral constituency created in 2013. It used to be known as Nairobi West Constituency from 1963 to 1969.

4. Langata Constituency

Covering an area of 223 square kilometers, Langata Constituency encompasses Nairobi's southwestern and southern areas. Its attractions include the Giraffe Centre, Uhuru Gardens, and Bomas, a tourist village.

5. Kibra Constituency

Kibra Constituency, established before the 2013 general election, is situated in the city's southwest. It includes slums and adjacent estates, making it a vital part of Nairobi County. These are just a few examples of the diverse constituencies that comprise Nairobi County, each contributing to the city's unique character and charm.

Summary: Full table of Nairobi County Districts

Constituency Area (sq. kms) Population Major Ethnic Group No. of Registered Voters
Westlands 72.4 N/A Cosmopolitan N/A
Dagoretti North N/A 151,978 Cosmopolitan 111,084
Dagoretti South 25 178,691 Cosmopolitan 89,886
Langata 223 N/A Cosmopolitan N/A
Kibra 12 178,284 Cosmopolitan 101,352
Roysambu 49 202,284 Cosmopolitan N/A
Kasarani 153 200,984 Cosmopolitan 105,461
Ruaraka 7.2 192,620 Cosmopolitan 92,261
Embakasi 208 N/A Cosmopolitan N/A
Starehe 20 166,041 Cosmopolitan N/A
Mathare 3 193,416 Cosmopolitan N/A
Makadara 13 160,434 Cosmopolitan 107,233
Kumukunji 9 211,991 Cosmopolitan 97,200

Nairobi's Educational and Cultural Institutions

Nairobi takes pride in its educational and cultural institutions, which shape the city's identity. Some notable institutions include the University of Nairobi, Kenyatta University College, Kenya Polytechnic University College, and Kenya Institute of Administration. Additionally, cultural landmarks such as the Kenya National Archives, the National Museum of Kenya, McMillan Memorial Library, and Kenya National Theatre enrich the city's cultural tapestry.

READ ALSO: Airtel Kenya 4G PocketWiFi Packages, Features And Prices


With its rich history, geographical beauty, and diverse districts, Nairobi is a city like no other. From its humble beginnings as a colonial railway settlement to its current status as a vibrant, multicultural capital, Nairobi continues to evolve and thrive. Whether you're a resident or a visitor, there's always something new to discover in this dynamic city. As Nairobi County's constituencies each contribute unique flavors to the city's cultural mosaic, exploring them is like embarking on a journey through Nairobi's soul. So, next time you find yourself in the "Green City in the Sun," take the time to explore its districts, meet its people, and savor its unique experiences. Nairobi is more than a capital; it's a microcosm of Kenya's diverse and dynamic spirit.

Joseph Richard Joseph is a graduate of Mathematics and Computer Science (Applied Option). With expertise in Technology and Finance, he brings his knowledge to the field, demonstrating an authoritative understanding of these interrelated areas. Joseph is pursuing a Master's in Software Engineering, further expanding his skill set.