List of Senators in Kenya and their Counties 2023

Get insights into the Kenyan Senate's structure, functions, and impact on county governance. Learn how it ensures accountability and allocation of national revenue.

Jun 19, 2023 - 11:56
Jun 19, 2023 - 11:59
List of Senators in Kenya and their Counties 2023
List of Senators in Kenya and their Counties 2023

The Kenyan Senate and the National Assembly are crucial to the country's bicameral parliament system. A common query among the public often revolves around which of the two houses holds more power. While the ConstitutionConstitution doesn't explicitly rank the two based on their respective functions, the National Assembly performs a broader range of roles compared to the Senate, thus indicating a degree of superiority.

However, it's worth noting that this doesn't downplay the Senate's critical role in governance and politics in Kenya, particularly concerning the counties and county governments.

Membership and Composition of the Kenyan Senate

The Senate's membership comprises:

  • 47 elected senators, each representing a Kenyan county.
  • 16 senators are occupying special seats reserved for women, nominated by political parties based on their representation in the Senate.
  • Four senators occupied seats set aside for the youth and persons with disabilities.
  • The Speaker, who is an ex officio member of the Senate.

Defining the Role of the Senate in Kenya

The functions of the Senate in Kenya revolve primarily around the counties and related laws. These responsibilities stem from the Senate's legislative authority from the Kenyan people, reflecting the nation's diversity and representing the public will.

According to Article 94 of the Kenyan Constitution, the Senate's responsibilities include:

  • Considering, debating, and approving bills concerning counties
  • Determining the allocation of national revenue that goes to the counties
  • Exercising oversight authority over the national revenue allocated to the county governments
  • Exercising oversight over state officers, including considering and determining any resolution to remove the President or the Deputy President from office.
  • As such, the Senate plays a pivotal role in representing the counties and protecting their interests and governments.

Revenue Sharing and Oversight

Arguably, one of the most important roles of the Senate in Kenya is revenue sharing, which includes both vertical and horizontal sharing of revenue. Vertical revenue sharing is a joint function between the Senate and the National Assembly. Every five years, the Senate determines the basis for sharing the equitable share among the counties (Article 217 of the Constitution).

Furthermore, the Senate also plays a vital oversight role in ensuring prudent expenditure by the county governments. This role involves adopting and acting on reports from the Controller of Budget and the Auditor General.

List of Elected Senators and Their Counties

Given the Senators' crucial role, understanding who they are and the counties they represent is essential. Here is a list of the current elected senators in all the 47 counties in Kenya and the parties they were elected under:

(Please note that the information provided is accurate as of the date of this article. For the most current information, please consult the official Senate website or other reliable sources)

001 Mombasa Mohamed Faki Mwinyihaji ODM
002 Kwale Issa Juma Boy ODM
003 Kilifi Stewart ​​ Madzayo ODM
004 Tana River Danson Mungatana UDA
005 Lamu Joseph Githuku JP
006 Taita-Taveta Johnes Mwaruma ODM
007 Garissa Abdulkadir Mohamed Haji UDA
008 Wajir Abass Sheikh Mohammed UDM
009 Mandera Ali Roba UDM
010 Marsabit Mohamed Said Chute UDA
011 Isiolo Dullo Fatuma Adan JP
012 Meru Kathuri Murungi UDA
013 Tharaka Nithi Gataya Mwenda UDA
014 Embu Alexander Mundigi DP
015 Kitui Enoch Kiio Wambua WIPER
016 Machakos Agnes Kavindu Muthama WIPER
017 Makueni Dan Maanzo WIPER
018 Nyandarua John Methu UDA
019 Nyeri William Wahome UDA
020 Kirinyaga Kamau Murango UDA
021 Muranga Joel Nyutu UDA
022 Kiambu Karungo Thangwa UDA
023 Turkana James Lomenen UDA
024 West Pokot Julius Murgor UDA
025 Samburu ​​ Steve Ltumbesi Lelegwe UDA
026 Trans Nzoia Allan Chesang UDA
027 Uasin Gishu Jackson Mandago UDA
028 Elgeyo-Marakwet William Kipkemoi Kisang UDA
029 Nandi Samson Cherargei UDA
030 Baringo William Cheptumo UDA
031 Laikipia John Kinyua Nderitu UDA
032 Nakuru Tabitha Karanja UDA
033 Narok Ledama Ole Kina ODM
034 Kajiado Samuel Kanar UDA
035 Kericho Aaron Kipkirui Cheruiyot UDA
036 Bomet Hillary Sigei UDA
037 Kakamega Boni Khalwale UDA
038 Vihiga Godfrey Osotsi ODM
039 Bungoma Wafula Wakoli FORD-K
040 Busia Okiyah Omtatah NRA
041 Siaya Oburu Oginga ODM
042 Kisumu Tom Ojienda ODM
043 Homa Bay Moses Otieno Kajwang ODM
044 Migori Eddy Oketch ODM
045 Kisii Richard Onyoka ODM
046 Nyamira Erick Okongo Mogeni ODM
047 Nairobi Edwin Sifuna ODM

READ ALSO: List of all the 47 Elected Governors and their Parties


Understanding the Senators representing each of Kenya's counties and the Senate's structure and roles is key to appreciating the functions of this upper house of parliament. While each Senator holds a unique position in representing their respective county, they form a crucial body that not only debates and approves bills concerning the counties but also ensures the appropriate allocation and oversight of national revenue to county governments.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many Senators are there in Kenya?

There are 67 Senators in Kenya: 47 representing each county, 16 women, four representing the youth and persons with disabilities, and the Speaker.

What is the primary role of the Senate in Kenya?

The Senate in Kenya is primarily responsible for considering, debating, and approving bills concerning the counties. They also allocate national revenue to counties and oversee how it is spent.

How often are Senators elected in Kenya?

Senators in Kenya are elected every five years during the General Election.

Can a Senator be removed from office?

Yes, a Senator can be removed from office under specific circumstances, such as violation of the ConstitutionConstitution, gross misconduct, or incapacity.

What is the difference between the Senate and the National Assembly in Kenya?

While both are part of Kenya's bicameral parliament, the National Assembly primarily deals with laws relating to the national government, while the Senate focuses on laws concerning the counties.

How does the Senate ensure county governments spend their allocated revenue responsibly?

The Senate oversees county governments' expenditures by reviewing and acting on reports from the Controller of Budget and the Auditor General.


This article aims to provide general information on the Kenyan Senate and does not claim accuracy beyond the date of its publication. Always refer to official government resources for the most current and accurate details.

Joseph Richard Joseph is a graduate of Mathematics and Computer Science (Applied Option). With expertise in Technology and Finance, he brings his knowledge to the field, demonstrating an authoritative understanding of these interrelated areas. Joseph is pursuing a Master's in Software Engineering, further expanding his skill set.